Board of Directors

The American Association for the International Commission of Jurists (AAICJ) is directed by an accomplished board of 14 members. Click on the name of a board member for a full biography.

Donald T. Fox – Chairman of the Board

Senior Partner of Fox, Horan & Camerini LLP, Donald T. Fox is a life trustee of the American Bar Foundation, sustaining life member of the American Law Institute, and a member of various organizations involved in foreign affairs. He has chaired committees of the Association of the Bar of New York City, including the Finance Committee, the Committee on Professional Responsibility, and the Special Committee on the Lawyer’s Role in the Search for Peace.

William J. Butler – President

William J. Butler is President of the American Association for the International Commission of Jurists and former Chairman of the Executive Committee of the International Commission of Jurists in Geneva. He is the founder of the Center for the Independence of Lawyers and Judges and the Urban Morgan Institute for Human Rights at the University of Cincinnati College of Law.

Professor Harvey Goldschmid – Secretary-Treasurer

Harvey J. Goldschmid is a Dwight Professor of Law at Columbia University and Senior Counsel at the global law firm of Weil, Gotshal & Manges. Professor Goldschmid has served as a Commissioner of the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the SEC’s General Counsel (chief legal officer), and Special Senior Advisor to SEC Chairman. He is the author of numerous publications on corporate, securities, and antitrust law.

Andrea Bonime-Blanc

Andrea Bonime-Blanc is Senior Vice President and Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer at Bertelsmann Inc.

George B. Adams

George B. Adams is a retired corporate and international partner of Debevoise & Plimpton LLP. He has served as Director of United Way of New York City, Chair of Yale Alumni Publications, Inc., and Director of the Lawyers Alliance for World Security. He also acts as an arbiter of the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission and is a fellow of the American Bar Foundation.

Robert P. Bass, Jr.

Robert P. Bass served as Director of Counsel at Cleveland, Waters and Bass, from 1956 to 2003, and has been a longtime Member of the Council on Foreign Relations from 1956 to 2005.

Clare O’Brien

Clare O’Brien, a partner in Shearman & Sterling LLP, started her life as a lawyer as a solicitor in Dublin, Ireland. Moving to New York in 1985, she joined the global law firm of Shearman & Sterling LLP in 1989, and is currently a partner in its New York mergers and acquisitions practice group, working on a variety of public and private transactions with U.S. and non-U.S. clients. Clare is also a member of the board of directors of Lawyers Alliance for New York.

James H. Carter

James H. Carter is a partner in the New York office of Sullivan & Cromwell LLP and co-coordinator of its international arbitration practice. He is a former Chairman of the Board of Directors of the American Arbitration Association and a Past President of the American Society of International Law.

Martin S. Flaherty

Martin S. Flaherty is Leitner Family Professor of Law and Co-Founding Director of the Leitner Center for International Law and Justice at Fordham Law School. He is also a Visiting Professor at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs and the New School in New York.

John J. Kenney

John J. Kenney, a partner at Hoguet Newman Regal & Kenney, LLP, specializes in complex civil and criminal litigation, government investigations, and corporate governance and compliance law, and has served as Executive Assistant U.S. Attorney. He is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and a member of the Committee on the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, and is active in various Bar Associations.

Mary McGowan Davis

Mary McGowan Davis is a visiting attorney of Legal Momentum a former Acting Justice of the Supreme Court of the State of New York. She has been involved in a variety of matters relating to transitional justice and human rights law since her retirement from the bench.

Richard H. Moore

Richard H. Moore serves as counsel at Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton, LLP.

Andre W. G. Newburg

Andre W. G. Newburg has served as counsel at Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton, LLP. (New York, Paris, Brussels, Hong Kong), as well as General Counsel for the European Bank for Reconstruction & Development in London.

Stephen A. Oxman

Stephen A. Oxman is Senior Advisor at Morgan Stanley Dean Witter & Co. and a former litigation partner at Shearman & Sterling. Mr. Oxman has served as Assistant Secretary of State for European and Canadian Affairs, as well as Executive Assistant to the Deputy Secretary of State and a consultant to the Secretary of State concerning the Iran hostage crisis.